ARCHIS

8U1A3671Dear Friends,

I am writing this letter, not only to shed some light on what I have been up to the past few months, even years, but to also give you clarity on Archis and when it will be released.

It’s been a long road for me in this music industry.  Some of you have known me for a while, and I feel like I’ve gotten to know a lot you as well.  I feel like I’ve ridden the waves, up and down, steady and strong sometimes, and others, tumbling off into the abyss.

On a good note, I would like to say that I am grateful to the people who stood by me.  I have changed, and so have my record labels, tours, and adventures as a musician; however, my management team has not.  In all of my wandering and hesitant decision making, I am thankful to say, that I have had a small, but strong team always beside me at my lowest points as well as when we felt on top of the world.  So for that, Mike and Amanda, thank you very much.  I love you guys.

I am also happy to announce, that my team has grown.  I have recently just signed to a new record label, of which I couldn’t be more excited about.  I met with them recently and they all -big surprise here- are genuine music lovers.  I feel like that’s a hard thing to find with people who work in the business and are good at their jobs.  They’ve listened to the 6 song Archis self titled EP, and, I feel, all share my love for it.  They will be releasing this EP in….. January of 2015.

I freaked out a little when I heard the release date too.  I know I told you all that I would be releasing our EP in June of this year, and then June turned into July and July to August and now January.

Let me quickly explain why this is so.  I did not misinform you on purpose.  I was set to tour in June and July, and being that at that time, having been dropped from my third label, Universal Republic, I spent all my savings into making an EP, a piece of art that I loved with no rules and no boundaries.  When self releasing an album, it is not necessarily wise to just push it out at any given time.  It’s kind of like dropping off your kid at Kindergarden without his lunch box, pens, paper, binders, etc.  (I’ll try to explain this as best I can, because I’ve never been very good at the business side of anything.  I just like writing songs.)  When self releasing an album, it’s important to try to release it around something else, like a tour for example.  So after sitting down with my manager, we decided that it would be the best thing to release the Archis EP around the tour.  We hoped it would be the best way to get the word out.

Right as June hit, Mike gave me a call as I was out on tour and said that a label was showing interest in Archis and that it might be a good idea to wait a couple weeks on the physical release.  I was honestly quite shocked.  I never thought a label would be very interested in Archis.  We’re not a …money making band.  We’re not a guaranteed radio band by any means either. I mean, all of our songs meet the 5 minute mark.  But here was a well grounded label, wanting to fly out to a show in Florida and have a meeting.

So they did.  We spoke about music over burgers and fries, and I kept telling myself, “Don’t get excited.  Don’t expect anything.”

Ok. So I’m a little jaded.  I’m trying, okay?

It turned out though that this label actually did want to sign Archis, and so I flew to LA to meet the staff and fell in love with not only their passion and work ethic and impressive roster, but with their genuine love for the Archis EP.  Everyone I met on staff was talking about the songs, the lyrics, visions for music videos, etc.

So let’s move to the present.  Today.

They think it is best, instead of just pushing out the EP right now, to set up a plan for it and do it the right way.  They want to help me write music video treatments to help tell the story of the EP.  They want to build photos for the album artwork.  They want to make a beautiful vinyl set, complete with exclusive photos and lyric sheets. They want to help with a live show set for LA unlike any show I’ve ever done before.  However, this will all take a lot of time.  They told me that I can rush it out now, or let them build the “team” for Archis, and release the actual EP in early January of next year.  (It’s only four months guys!)  I chose to build the team, and I hope that you can understand why and support it and hopefully get as excited as I am.

However, I won’t leave you hanging untill January.  We are in the process of making videos now to be released before then, with one set to be released in September so you will be able to hear the new music!  Joseph Trapanese, the other member and producer of Archis, and myself, are very proud of this and cannot wait to share our story with you all.  Thank you for your support and patience.  When we created Archis, we decided we wanted to make music for ourselves, music that we are proud of, music that takes us on a journey.  We hope you will come on that journey with us.

With much love.

Dia

13 thoughts on “ARCHIS

  1. Very happy to hear that you’re making the music you want to make, that another label is recognizing your talent, and I’m hoping the tour comes to the East coast. The music industry isn’t like it used to be. People used to want to buy a whole album of quality music… now people seem to just want singles, or the albums aren’t good enough to warrant buying and there is one radio friendly song on the album. So, if you get frustrated with the industry, listen to some “The Last D.J.” album by Tom Petty, and know there are still musicians and fans who respect real talent and creativity!

    Like

  2. Dia, Archis,

    I’m sorry to hear about the label troubles, though I’m glad to hear that you’re on track for your release! Very exciting!
    I must admit that I met this news with a little bit of disappointment… I’ve been looking forward to your EP since hearing your perfermance at the Warfield in San Francisco, this May. At the same time I’m also relieved to know when you plan on your releasing your EP.

    I’m sure that I speak for everyone who has heard your music when I say that I anxiously await your release, and that the moment when I have your CD in my hands cannot come a moment too soon.

    Best wishes, I can’t wait to see your next video!

    Like

  3. Dia,
    My best friend and I had the blessing of hearing you open for Lindsey in San Francisco. We had never heard your music before. It was nothing short of cathartic hearing you all up on that stage. We were in an absolute trance. I am so happy to hear how exiting this project is turning out! Do what’s right for you and your band because your fans aren’t going anywhere. ❤

    Like

  4. Hey Dia! I saw you guys open for Lindsey Stirling back in May and you were incredible! That’s one hell of a voice you’ve got there. I think it’s fantastic that this new label is supporting Archis, that’s so exciting! Don’t worry about the extended release date, it’ll be well worth the wait 🙂

    I didn’t realize you were in the lobby after the Lindsey Stirling show, otherwise I would have told you how much I love your music in person. You deserve every bit of the success you’ve had, and I’m excited to hear what you come up with next. Thanks for being real, and thanks for doing what you do.

    Kev

    PS: I love your Wagon Wheel cover on Youtube!

    Like

  5. I will admit that I am disheartened. I had the pleasure of seeing you guys at the Temple in Detroit and immediately after the show, I scoured the internet for any little bits I could find. I wanted to know and hear more! I have listened to “Blood” on repeat several times (because I’m an author and I need inspirational music for scenes I write) and I couldn’t get enough! Will I wait for January? Duh. I don’t have much of a choice, but as an artist, I know a thing or two about timing.

    My dad unexpectedly passed away just three weeks before seeing Archis. I haven’t been able to find the title of the song (you probably know which one I’m thinking of) but I cried pretty heavily when hearing it. I’ve been anticipating the EP release to purchase it and show my family. I wish you the best of luck and make sure to swing by Michigan again when you’re on tour! ❤

    -E

    Like

  6. I’m patient enough.
    I know all to well about how stressful it can be trying to decide when the best time to put your music out is. I honestly feel that you have enough talent that regardless of when you released it, word would pass around very quickly about you, but I agree with your reasons. I met you a few months back when you were on tour with Lindsey, and I must say you have one of the most gentle hearts I’ve ever seen from a musician. I’ll be waiting for January, or however long it takes!

    Like

  7. It is kind of late to read this message, but I glad I did read it. Just want you to know, no matter how long does it take for the new album to release, I am still gonna be so excited to hear new songs from you as I always do. And most important thing is that you are doing what you love, what you want, which actually makes it so much more exciting to me because this is gonna be an album that is filled with your passion and love. I can’t be more excited and happy about this. Love you Dia. 🙂

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for updating us! The Lindsey Stirling Tour introduced me to some of the most inspirational and meaningful music I’ve ever heard, and I can’t wait to hear those songs again. Keep up the spectacular work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

